Our Principals

Henry Ray

(O) 205.879.3036
(C) 205.563.8248
Email: hray@raypoynor.com

Co-owner and President of Ray & Poynor Properties. Henry founded Ray & Company in 1976. In 1997, Ray & Company bought First Real Estate Corporation of Alabama (FRECA) and Henry served as its President. FRECA acquired three other local real estate companies. In 2000, Ray & Company and FRECA merged with RealtySouth, Alabama’s largest real estate firm. Henry served as Vice Chairman of the Board and Chief Administrative Officer until 2004. RealtySouth was sold in 2002. Before creating Ray & Poynor Properties, Henry was responsible for business development for Haskell Slaughter Young & Rediker. In 2010, Ray & Poynor Properties was formed.

Henry holds several advanced industry designations including GRI, CRS, CRB, OTR, Realtor of the Year, ABR, ABRM and Distinguished Service Award. He is a director for the Birmingham Area Board of Realtors® and the Alabama Association of Realtors®. Henry also serves on the Board of Directors for the National Association of Realtors®. His professional and civic associations include: Magic Moments Advisory Board, Newcomen Society, Echo Foundation, UAB School of Nursing Board, Summit Club Board, Board of Advisors for Birmingham Southern College, St. Vincent’s Foundation Board, Birmingham Botanical Gardens Board, Birmingham Historical Society Board, Metro YMCA Board, Birmingham Rotary Club and an elder in the Presbyterian church.



Wilmer Poynor

(O) 205.879.3036
(C) 205.229.7747
Email: wpoynor@raypoynor.com



Co-owner and Vice President of Ray & Poynor Properties. In 1992, Wilmer founded Poynor Properties. Poynor Properties merged with Ray & Company in 1997 and Wilmer served as vice president. After First Real Estate Corporation of Alabama & Ray & Company merged with RealtySouth, Wilmer served as the regional Vice President from 2000 until 2009.

His professional and civic associations include: Magic Moments Board, Monday Morning Quarterback Club, Birmingham Business Alliance, Residential Sales Council and is a member of St. Luke’s Episcopal Church.